Have You Been Denied Disability Benefits?

Social Security Disability (SSD) – Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Short-Term Disability – Long-Term Disability

Disability Cases Within the Social Security Disability Process

Reconsiderations and Appeals

There are four (4) levels of administrative adjudication of social security claims. They are:

(1) Initial determination;

(2) Reconsideration determination;

(3) Hearing before an administrative law judge;

(4) Review by the appeals council;

(5) Federal Court Action.

At the initial and reconsideration levels the Social Security Administration does not make medical determinations of disability. Instead, claims are referred to Florida Disability Determination Services (“DDS”), which an agency of the state government that has a contract with SSA for determining disability. At the state agency usually a medical doctor and a layman, called a disability examiner, evaluate the claim, though SSA has been experimenting in pilot projects with having disability examiners make uncomplicated decisions on their own. If the claimant is dissatisfied with the initial determination, the claimant may appeal. This appeal is a request for reconsideration.

If a claimant requests reconsideration, a different team than the one that issued the initial determination will make the reconsideration determination; but the result will probably be the same. Relatively few reconsideration determinations result in a claimant receiving benefits. The next step is to request a hearing before an administrative law judge.

Disability Cases Denied by Long-Term Disability Insurance Carriers:

You Only Have Sixty (60) Days to File an Appeal. . . Call Now! 305.562.7333